GUNNER LOVE IT: le season finalé

20130519-152612.jpg

Today’s game:
Newcastle united vs Arsenal

Venue:
St. James park

Kick off:
16:00 GMT

Finally, I’m back.
I know you missed me, and I’m sorry for being AWOL for sooooo looong, same old problem- you know, living in a remote part of the world, expensive Internet that is when it is actually available, but erm, I think I’m stable now.
I’ve worked out a unique subscription plan with my carrier and I’m here to finally give you what you deserve- unadulterated arsenal news, and oh yeah, I hate spurs(have I mentioned that before).

So, a whole lot has happened since I last wrote a blog and I’m sure you’ve read all that from other places, so i will just go straight to the most current event.

Today’s game:
Arsenal play Newcastle today as one of the fixtures in the final game week of the premier league season.
Safe to say that everyone knows that this is a match we absolutely have to win, the players especially should know that. They should by now have it embossed in their limbic systems that only a win will do today.
There is no room for hoping that spurs will drop points because let’s face it, a game at white hart lane against a sunderland side that has nothing to lose hardly represents a daunting fixture for them. Enough about that lot.
I’m excited and confident that we will get the job done today and why shouldn’t we, after all we are unbeaten in all competitions since we last lost to spurs 2-1 on the 3rd of march.
Since then we’ve gone on to win seven matches with two draws in the premier league, and of course there was that 2-0 victory over Bayern in the champion’s league.
That’s a massive 23 points from the last 27 available, and if we now have our fate in our hands, its because we’ve worked hard over the last two months.
The defense has been outstanding with the BFG at the helm of affairs, but Koscielny has also shown why he is one of the best in the league, leaving club captain, Vermaelen on the bench for quite some time now.
Sagna’s notably high standards have dropped, and I must confess that I’m one of those clamoring for a new right Back at the club. Make no mistake, Bacary has been great for us, but there comes a time in every player’s life when he simply has to move on to a club that suits his current level of performance.
Here in Nigeria, it’s taking a bit longer for people to start appreciating that Ramsey is getting back to his best and has probably been our most consistent player for the last couple of months, and though I was one of his critics(sure everybody was at some point), I can’t deny that he has really exploded into life in recent weeks. I’m glad for his goal against Wigan too, he’s had that coming for quite sometime now, and if you feel his performance didn’t merit it then…you should fall ill.
We saw Podolski grab two great goals on Tuesday night and that could give the manager some good problems, what with The HFB being back from his three gams suspension and all.
In terms of team news, Arteta is a doubt with Wilshere the likely replacement and as already mentioned, Giroud is back in contention.
Other than that, I expect the team that played Wigan on tuesday to repeat itself, with Gibbs keeping his place, although its becoming something of a myth now that Nacho plays the away games.
Let’s get the job done today, and then we can focus on summer signings.
On that issue, Wenger said:
“We have gone through a period that was very sensitive, we are coming out of it now, in a much stronger position financially.
“I believe that this club is today in a very, very strong position and has gone through a very sensitive period in a very intelligent way. After that, everything is here to have a great future.
“We have a good fanbase, we have now a strong financial situation, we have good young players and a squad with a bright future with the quality of the young players we have. It is just to manage it well now.”

With the new kit deal, the emirates deal, and various other resources believed to be at our disposal(and I’m sure it is), there is no reason we shouldn’t build a stronger squad for next season.
And I’m ending today’s blog on a high by predicting a 3-1 victory for the gunners, a 2-1 victory for spurs and 1-1 between Chelsea and everton.
Does anyone ever predict that we will have a clean sheet around here???
I wonder why not you know because we’ve already had 13 of them in the league this season. Is that too poor? Guess I’ll have to compare ours to that of the top 6 to see where we are. I’ll let you know when I’ve done that.
Till then, keep yourselves busy on twitter by following @civilizedgunner.
Let’s keep spurs in their place come 6pm today.
Come on you reds.

Have your say!!!

